Frequently
Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions

No…… The law is expressly clear on this topic.  An accused driver may represent themselves or be represented by any person of their choosing.

Generally, the answer is no, however, there are a few exceptions.  If your license has been suspended for a DUI or for Negligent Operation, a restricted license may be issued if certain requirements are met.  A restricted license will not be granted for any type of Physical/Mental Suspension or Lack of Skill.

First of all, you must be in contact with the Driver Safety Office closet to your home.  Generally, one must contact the Driver Safety Office within 14 days of when the order was written.  If you receive the Order of Suspension by hand-delivery from a DMV employee you only have 10 days to make contact.

No…… if you miss your opportunity, you can still ask the DMV to reopen your case and grant a hearing or interview.

Generally speaking no.  Depending on the issue that initiated the suspension and how badly you fail the testing it can take a while but you should be able to regain your license.

The answer is emphatically no.  The DMV is the Government Entity who is taking the action against your driving privilege and they will invest no time in helping you to defeat their case.

A DMV Reexamination is an investigation that is conducted before the DMV suspends your license.  As part of the reexamination process, you may be directed to file paperwork and you certainly will have to participate in an interview with a hearing officer.  Conversely, a DMV Hearing is conducted when the DMV has already suspended your license and you are fighting to have it reinstated.  A hearing is run like a mini-trial where you may present evidence and witnesses.  You may testify and you may attack the evidence against you.

It depends on what action the DMV is taking.  If the DMV is conducting a reexamination, you are only entitled to take one written and/or drive test.  If the Department is conducting a hearing, there is no maximum number of times you may test as long as you are making demonstrable improvement with each test.

The law allows you to be represented by any person of your choosing, so you should consider either an Advocate or an Attorney.  If those two options are not viable, you may consider hiring California DMV Self-Defense at a much lower fee.

That depends on the reason your license was suspended in the first place and the individual police officer who catches you.  If you are caught driving on a suspended license as a result of a DUI, it is considered a misdemeanor crime and you will have to appear in a criminal court.  If you get caught driving on a suspended license as a result of a Physical/Mental Disorder, Lack of Skill or Negligent Operation, it is a moving violation.

Either way, it is likely your car will be impounded at your expense.

A DMV Field Office is the local, neighborhood, office where we all go to apply for our driver license and to register our cars.  The Driver Safety Office is the DMV version of a courthouse.  It is where all DMV Administrative Hearings are conducted.  These are large offices that cover large geographical areas.

When the Covid-19 Pandemic struck, California Governor Newsome signed an executive order mandating that all administrative hearings be conducted by telephone.  Communicating with the DMV is currently being done by phone, fax and email.  Presently, most DMV Hearing Officers are working from home three days per week.

The answer is emphatically yes. The DMV process is archaic, abusive and inconsistent.  Being represented by someone with years of experience is advisable, but if you can’t afford the cost to hire and Advocate or Attorney, we can guide you at far lower prices.

Schedule a Confidential and Free Consultation

Our team of DMV Defense Experts are standing by to answer any questions you may have. All calls are confidential and at no obligation to you. Reach out now to see how any of our Self Help DMV Defense services can help you.